Kiewa Valley Australia Day Awards

Congratulations to the 2016 Australia Day Recipients in the Kiewa Valley….

Keith Pike receiving award

Keith Pike was named the Local Achiever of the Year for the Kiewa Valley.  Keith’s active participation in the Lions Club, the Alpine Shire L2P program, the Mt. Beauty and District Band, the Bright Singers, Team Mt. Beauty Mountain Bikes, Reading for the Print Handicapped on Alpine Radio makes him a worthy recipient.  Keith, pictured here, receiving his Award from Yvonne Sutton, who chaired the ceremony at Mt. Beauty.

IMG_1411The Alpine Shire 2016 Organisation of the Year was awarded to the Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club Search & Rescue team which has performed over 80 rescues in the region’s high plains and remote areas  over 30+ years.  Some of the team members, pictured above,  include Jim Gargan, Jarrod Paine, Bill Little, Bob Flower, Tony Keeble, Marty Eriksson and founding member, Bruce Vine.

The Alpine Shire’s Local Young Achiever of the Year was awarded to Kenton Ford of Mt. Beauty.  Kenton was unable to attend the ceremony to accept his Award.  Kenton volunteers as an Adaptive Snowsport Guide with Disabled Winter Sports Australia and attends the DWSA snowsports camps which run every weekend throughout the winter season.  In addition, from his experience presenting a weekly Alpine radio program, he now produces a web-based music program.  He is also a skilled all round skier and was a member of the 2014 Mt. Beauty Secondary College winning Secondary School team.

This entry was posted in General Information. Bookmark the permalink.