ALPINE SHIRE COUNCIL March 2020 meeting

Continue reading

Posted in General Information | Comments Off on ALPINE SHIRE COUNCIL March 2020 meeting

Living with Persistent Pain?

A FREE , easy to understand talk about why your body hurts will be presented across a number of Victorian regional  towns during March.  The closest session in our area is in Bright on March 13.  The Brain Bus will be open from 12.00 – 2.00pm and the Public Seminar is from 3.30-5.00pm.  For more information and to register for  your FREE ticket click on this link…..

Posted in General Information | Comments Off on Living with Persistent Pain?


Many of you receiving this post are paid up members of the UKVCA and some of you are lifelong members. We thank you for your ongoing support

However, we wish to appeal to those of you who are currently not members but have been paid up members at some time in the last seven years.

Since the UKVCA was formed in September 2012, it has completed many projects, some of which are:

  1. Establishing the Honour Rock in Hydro Park, which was named following results of a community survey organised by UKVCA.
  2. Nominating citizens and organisations for the Alpine Shire Australia Day   Awards, many of whom have been winners.
  3. Representing the community at Alpine Shire Council meetings and developing stronger working relations with both staff and Councillors. At UKVCA’s request, for the past 3  years, we have had a Council meeting held in Mt. Beauty.  The Association has also provided members for panels deciding on Shire Community and Events grants.
  4. In 2013, the first annual Community Forum was held to which all three levels of Government have been invited, allowing the community direct consultation with their local representatives.
  5. Cleaning up the open space area opposite the AGL offices, with more work still to be completed there.
  6. Being granted Victorian Government “Pick My Project” funding to extend the track from Pebble Beach along the West Kiewa River.  This project will be completed by  March, this year.
  7. Establishment of TReK (Towards Renewable energy Kiewa), a group working to introduce environmentally sound power supply to the Kiewa Valley.
  8. Support is given to many other community groups and their projects, such as the work on the West Kiewa River picnic area.
  9. There are many other smaller completed projects providing benefits in our community.

However, the Association is now faced with a major concern.  With more projects being proposed which require working input, we must take out Public Liability insurance.  This does not come cheaply and will cost between $700 and $800 annually.  As a non- profit organisation, we do not have the funds to cover this annually and so we need to seek additional funding.  We have looked for support from government funds but they cannot be used for this type of expenditure.  So we must turn to you, our community.  Our simple request is,  for those of you who are no longer financial members, to renew your membership ASAP by simply paying $10 into the UKVCA bank account, details below.

We thank you for your attention to this information and hope you can see your way to give us your financial support.

BANKING DETAILS:Please provide your name and membership to the bank to show on the UKVCA account.
Bendigo Bank
• Upper Kiewa Valley Community Association Inc.
• BSB:  633 000
• Account No: 156 980 120

Posted in General Information | Comments Off on UKVCA needs your MEMBERSHIP

Community Education for Victorian Seniors in 2020

A FREE Community Education for Victorian Seniors has been organised by U3A and Alpine Health to be held at the Mt. Beauty Neighbourhood Centre on Friday, 28th  February.

Lisa Neville, Alpine Health Health Promotion Officer, requests that you register now to get an idea of the number of interested Seniors.   If you have difficulty using the the above link,  UKVCA suggest you use the following link for the Mt. Beauty session:                 

Alternatively, if you still have problems with on-line registrations, contact Lisa Neville, on 5755 0132.



Posted in General Information | Comments Off on Community Education for Victorian Seniors in 2020

2020 Australia Day celebration in the Kiewa Valley

Australia Day 2020 was celebrated in Mt. Beauty on Sunday, 26th January.
The Mt. Beauty Community Band led the proceedings.    The Alpine Shire then conferred Australian Citizenship on 7 new residents of the Alpine Shire.  UKVCA welcome our new residents pictured here with Mayor, Peter Roper. The Alpine Shire then presented the local Awards:  The Kiewa Valley Lifetime Citizenship Awared was presented to Hazel Riordan.  The Kiewa Valley Young Achiever was awarded to Alex Mero and the  KV Local Achiever as well as the Alpine Shire Citizen of the Year was awarded to Nick Brown.  Mayor Peter Roper, Nick Brown’s Awards were accepted by Rod Hyde (as Nick was away from the Valley on the day), Alex Mero, Hazel Riordan and Councillor Tony Keeble.


Posted in General Information | Comments Off on 2020 Australia Day celebration in the Kiewa Valley

The Leukaemia Foundation – CELEBRATING MILESTONES

The following 2 functions are planned to raise funds for The Leukaemia Foundation under the banner  Celebrating Milestones….

  1. RAFFLE NIGHT at West Peak hotel on Friday, 15th November from – all profits will be donated to The Leukaemia Foundation.
  2. The Mt. Beauty Neighbourhood Centre will conduct a MORNING TEA on 27th November from 10.30am.  This will be a light-hearted event with participants being given ‘goodie bags’ which are being filled with generous donations from local businesses.  The tickets for this are $30 with $5 from each ticket being donated to the Leukaemia Foundation.   For catering purposes, bookings for this event are essential  –   Neighbourhood Centre    –   5754 1166

If you are unable to attend either of these events, donations can be made directly to the Leukaemia Foundation into the following account:

Account Name:          The Leukaemia Foundation                                                                             BSB:                              082 057                                                                                                                Account Number:       85 616 4475                                                                                                        Reference:                    3326990  (please deposit before 6/12/19)

Posted in General Information | Comments Off on The Leukaemia Foundation – CELEBRATING MILESTONES